Thursday, June 14, 2018

European Inventor Awards - The 2018 Jury

Copyright © Françoise Herrmann

Composed of leading scientists, science and technology professionals, industrialists, inventors,  and former EPO Award winners, the 2018 European Inventor Awards Jury --for the first time in 12 years, since the inception of the program in 2006-- awarded more trophies to women scientists.

Among approximately 500 proposals, reduced by EPO experts to a pre-selection of 40, the Jury selects three finalists in each of the five European Inventor Award categories: Research, Industry, Small and Medium Enterprises, Non-EPO Member Country, and Lifetime Achievement. A single winning inventor, or team of inventors, is then selected in each of the five categories. The public votes for the winning inventor, or team of inventors in the sixth Popular Award category, among the 15 finalists.  

The members of the Jury look for inventions that are both breakthrough and with a significant social and economic impact. 

The following short Youtube video shows the 2018 members of the European Inventor Awards Jury, in-action.  A hyperlinked list of the members of the 2018 Jury is also appended. 

Members of the 2018 European Inventor Awards Jury

No comments: